Book Review: Anna Dressed in Blood

Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

Genre: Horror / Paranormal / Romance

First Released: August 2011

Part of a Series? Yes
Book 2: Girl of Nightmares

Brief Synopsis:

For three years, seventeen-year-old Cas Lowood has carried on his father’s work of dispatching the murderous dead, traveling with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat, but everything changes when he meets Anna, a girl unlike any ghost he has faced before.

Where can I find it in the library?
This will be on the second floor of the library in the Vortex.

Call Number: YA F BLAKE

anna dressed in blood

Commentary (spoilers, if any, will be notated):

Initial Thoughts:

Kendare Blake has a good writing style. There’s enough description so you can get a feeling for what is going on, but not so much that she is describing every blade of grass on the lawn either. It’s just enough to keep the reader interested. All words also mean what they should mean which is always a plus in my book!

The plot also moves at a good pace to keep the reader on reading. Books that drag on and on drive me bonkers, get to the point already! No useless lollygagging please! (Unless it’s funny, then it doesn’t bother me as much)

For those of you who are concerned that it is a part of the horror genre:

It’s supposedly a horror novel but it’s actually not that scary, it has few gross moments (you’ll know them when you get to them) but overall nothing too frightening. It feels more general paranormal based than horror. Trust me because I’m a scaredy cat. I have to watch Supernatural with the lights on.

The Twist (***spoilers in this section, skip over this if you don’t want to be spoiled!***):

The love story aspect between a ghost hunter and a ghost is cute. It’s something I hadn’t read before or even heard about very often (if at all, in the comments let me know if I’m mistaken!) so it was nice to see something different. As much as I love vampire novels, it’s nice to see it wasn’t a vampire love story. The main character is a boy, so it’s nice to see the romance from the boy’s perspective instead of the girl’s. The lack of a love-triangle is also really refreshing too!

Final Thoughts:

Would I read it again? Probably not, I’d rather watch an episode of Supernatural  instead. I would have liked to see more suspense and ghost-killing action.

Will I read the sequel? Most likely, I’d like to see what happens to the main character and Anna after the end of this one. Hopefully they’ll all get some more development!

Feel any differently than I do? Feel similarly? Tell us below in the comments! We’d love to hear from you.


Ashe

One thought on “Book Review: Anna Dressed in Blood

Leave a Reply

