Anime Recommendation of the Month: The Devil is a Part-Timer

This month’s recommendation is the anime The Devil is a Part-Timer.

devil is a part timerGenre: Comedy / Fantasy

Number of episodes: 13

Rating: TV-14

Language: English & Japanese with English Subs

Brief Synopsis: “Inches away from conquering the world, the devil is foiled by a hero and finds himself in modern-day Tokyo. With no real-world skills to speak of, the devil is forced to make ends meet flipping burgers at a fast food joint!” (Hulu.com)

Spoiler-free Commentary:

I first discovered this anime during Anime Central in 2014 while wandering around the vendor’s hall. At Funimation’s, they had a ginormous promotional poster advertising the anime. I knew nothing about it, but from just the title, I wanted to see it: The Devil is a Part Timer. The whole premise of satan being a fast food worker is hilarious. I began to imagine what it could possibly be about. Did he love it? Did he hate it? How did the devil get himself into such a situation? Maybe it was on purpose! Perhaps it was a social commentary on how fast food CEOs are the devil themselves (though then again, CEOs are not part-timers…there went that theory)!

About a year later, as I browsed aimlessly on Netflix, imagine my delight when I saw they had picked up the title! With nothing to lose but time, I started up the show to see if it would be as good as I hoped. It was! My only major complaint is I wish there was more. I’m a person who is an absolute sucker for character development and interaction. Thirteen episodes isn’t nearly enough time with the characters. I NEED MORE. Will there be a second season? Unfortunately, probably not.

However, which of my 2014 Anime Central musings came true and which were wild fantasies that never came to fruition in the show? Not telling! When I say spoiler-free, I mean it! Watch it yourself!

If you have Netflix, you can watch it there, but it is also available for free on Hulu.com! I watched it subbed, because the dub has a very strange glitch on netflix. Occasionally the show switches into a made-up language (which is fine) but if you leave the subtitles off, you have no idea what they’re saying when they switch into said fake language. So, long story short: watch the sub. You’ll save yourself some confusion.

Hulu

Netflix

When you finish the show and you’re itching for more and just can’t stand it? GUESS WHAT. There’s a manga that is being released! AND GUESS WHAT ELSE!!!! The library has it! Check it out today!
__
Ashe

2 thoughts on “Anime Recommendation of the Month: The Devil is a Part-Timer

Leave a Reply

