Anime Recommendation of the Month: Princess Jellyfish

This month’s recommendation is the anime Princess Jellyfish.

princess jellyfishGenre: Comedy / Romance

Number of episodes: 11

Rating: PG-13

Language: English & Japanese with English Subs

Brief Synopsis:  “Amamizukan is an apartment complex where no boys are allowed. Kurashita Tsukimi, a girl who adores jellyfish, lives there happily with her friends who all have nerdy obsessions of their own. Their peaceful lives gradually start to change when a beautiful woman helps Tsukimi out of a pinch.”

Spoiler-free Commentary:

This is my hands-down all time favorite anime ever. I love it so much I’m not even quite sure just how to explain why I love it. Princess Jellyfish follows the adventures of Tsukimi and her friends after Tsukimi makes a new friend that (not so gently) pushes them far out of their comfort level to hilarious results.

It’s only failing is that it’s only 11 episodes! Once you get started, it’s far too easy to complete in a single sitting. My advice: take it slow. Savor it, because I loved this show to the point that the moment I finished it, I checked to see if there was going to be a second season. Unfortunately, like The Devil is a Part Timer, there is not. D: (You bet as writing this I double checked to see if that news changed.)

However! GOOD NEWS EVERYONE. There is a Princess Jellyfish manga! And like Fruits Basket, the manga continues on long after the anime ends. As of now, it’s up to 15 volumes in Japan! Thankfully, Kodansha Comics was awesome enough to pick up the license for the manga! In February of 2016, the first volume will be released in the US in English! Mark your calendars because I know I will be!

There was also a live-action version that came out in Japan last year! I have not yet had a chance to see it though, so respond in the comments if you have! I’d love to know your thoughts.

Itching to get started on the show? Check it out at the library today! Hulu also has the first two episodes available to watch for free.
__
Ashe

Leave a Reply

