What is Ashe Watching?: iZombie

iZombie

i zombieRating: TV-14

# of Seasons: 2 (Season 2 started Oct 6th this year (2015)).

Channel & Time it airs new episodes: The CW on Tuesdays at 8pm Central

Does the Library own it? Yes

Brief Synopsis: “How many people can say that satisfying their munchies helps solve murders? Olivia ‘Liv’ Moore is a medical resident on the fast track to a perfect life, until she’s turned into a zombie. Stuck between half-alive and undead, Liv transfers to Seattle’s morgue to access the only thing that allows her to maintain her humanity, human brains. But there are side effects to Liv’s new diet: flashes of the corpse’s memories, including clues as to how they were killed.” (Library Catalog)

Commentary

So I discovered iZombie on Netflix recently and was hesitant at first. Anything with zombies makes me skeptical because I don’t do scary. (Sorry guys, not a Walking Dead fan!) The only zombie things I like are comedies such as Shaun of the Dead and Warm Bodies. Now those are great for me because they have zombies, but put a fun but not spooky, spin on it. Supernatural is about as spoopy as it gets for me.  

I’m glad I gave iZombie a chance though because HOLY HERA I LOVE IT. IT IS AWESOME. I’ve only seen three episodes so far because I’m treating it differently than how I normally watch shows. Normally I’m the type of person to:

  1. Discover a show,
  2. Proceed to binge-watch all of it within the week
  3. Fall into a despair because now what am I going to do with my life oh god I have to find another show to watch auuuuuugh my life is over.
  4. Rinse and repeat

So Why Do I Like It So Much?

First of all: it’s a comedy. I love comedies. I like things that make me laugh. It’s a way to escape the daily stresses of life and wind down for the day.

Also: it’s a cop show. I love cop/murder mystery shows (Bones, NCIS, Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries, Death in Paradise, etc!)  because they (almost) always get the bad guy unlike in real life. It’s super satisfying and I love guessing who the baddie of the episode will be. I feel so proud of myself when I get it right (and when I get it wrong I wonder how could I have missed it auuuuugh).

Last But Not Least:

It’s based on a graphic novel! The show is definitely clear about its origins too if you didn’t pay attention to the opening credits where it gives attribution. Every so often when a new arc in the episode starts, the art style will resemble a comic book before fading out into normal live action.

The same goes for the opening theme sequence (which has some minor spoilers if you haven’t yet seen the first episode); it’s played out in graphic novel format which looks really cool! It recaps the basis of stuff you need to know about the main character while being concise enough for the latest episode to get started!

If you’re curious to read the comic it’s based on, we have the graphic novels the show is based on at the library!

Don’t want to read the graphic novel and you don’t have Netflix?

Remember, we have the DVDs at the library for the first season! The second season is also available to watch on the CW’s website if you’re already all caught up and missed the start of the new season.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ll be reverting back to my usual habits and binge-watching the rest of the show (Hey, my willpower can only hold out so long!).
__
Ashe

Leave a Reply

