All. The. Feels.

All my characters are dying!! What is up with this? Why are all my characters physically or mentally ill? I’m not ableist or healthist or whatever. But, the feels! Oh god, the feels! Why do they all have to die???
I blame John Green.
It seems like The Fault in Our Stars started a trend and novels about sick and dying teenagers are popping up all over the place. It’s killing me. Ok, it’s not *killing* me, but it’s making me cry.
Every. Time. And, yet, I keep reading them. I don’t know why crying along with my favorite characters is so cathartic, but it really, really is. I guess this is what they call bibliotherapy.
If you, like me, gain a sense of relief and rebirth from reading about horrible things happening to other people, here are a few recent books about physically and/or mentally ill people.

You’ll probably want to have a box of tissues at the ready.

book everything everything book all the bright places  book extraordinary means book forgive me leonard peacock book kiss of broken glass

Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider
Everything, Everything by Nicola Young
Somebody Up There Hates You by Hollis Seamon
Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy
Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews
The Last Leaves Falling by Sarah Benwell
When Mr. Dog Bites by Brian Conaghan
All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick
Kiss of Broken Glass by Madeleine Kuderick

book me and earl and the dying girlbook side effects may varybook somebody up there hates youbook the last leaves fallingbook when mr dog bites

Leave a Reply

