The Legend of Zelda Majora’s Mask: First Impressions

Majoras MaskPlatform: 3DS, Nintendo 64, Gamecube

Rating: T

Genre: Action Adventure

First Released:
N64: 2000
3DS: 2015

Part of a Series?
Yes and No. While you do not need to play any of the other Legend of Zelda games to have an understanding of Majora’s Mask, I highly recommend Ocarina of Time for the 3DS as well!

Brief Synopsis:
“Play as Link and race against time to collect masks and transform into other characters, all to prevent Skull Kid from destroying the world of Termina in three days’ time.”

Commentary:

This commentary will be a bit different than other posts I’ve written as I’ve not beaten it yet! As of writing this, I’ve only had time to play approximately 20 minutes!

After checking this game out twice, I’ve finally started playing it! I’m pretty excited because I love Zelda games and I’ve heard nothing but good things about Majora’s Mask.

So, first impressions!

Pretty fun! Art style is the same as Ocarina of Time, so those of you who’ve played it before, will feel right at home. The prologue is pretty simple, introduces you to basic plot of what’s happening in the game and to the controls (if you’ve never played before). I happily breezed right through it!

Only part of the prologue I’ll touch on is this:

The mask merchant really gives me the creeps. Like seriously, in the official artwork dude has a Mario mask. Did he kill Mario and steal his face? Or is he an awesome artist? OR BOTH????

Happy_Mask_Salesman_Artwork_(Majora's_Mask)

K, DUDE. I’LL DO WHATEVER YOU WANT. JUST LEAVE ME ALONE D:

Then you get to the first part of the game. More specifically: The First Three Days. So. Things are… timed in Majora’s Mask. Timed anything in games gives me anxiety, even if it’s so much time that even Oprah can’t give it all away, I still freak out. I close the 3DS. Panic time. TO THE INTERNET.

Okay. Apparently even though you get a 72 hour (72 hours in game, in real life, it’s about 2-3 hours) time span, it’s not so bad. I found some websites that explain the concept and calmed me down. MAYBE I CAN DO THIS GUYS. I dunno, I’m kinda scared. But I think I can do it, I’m willing to give it a shot because I love the Legend of Zelda games.

Well, here I go. Time to face my fear of games with time limits.

Want to join me in my journey? Check out a copy today!

The article I found with tips on managing your time can be found here. IGN also has a super helpful walkthrough if you’re like me and hate struggling to figure things out and just want to enjoy the game darnit.
_
Ashe

Leave a Reply

