Knitting: Making Round Things!

Heads up to everyone reading that Needlecraft & a Movie is still a thing for teens in grades 6-12! We meet in the Vortex in Fountaindale Public Library at 5PM! Registration is not required, just your beautiful self and whatever needlecraft project you’re working on! Can be knitting, crochet, cross-stitch or anything else dealing with needlecrafts!

The next meeting is December 7th at 5PM.

Never knitted or crocheted before but you’d like to learn? Visit these posts!

The rest of today’s post will focus on knitting things in the round!

So you’ve mastered rectangular things (or maybe not and just want something new to learn. It’s all good here.)!

ARE YOU READY TO TACKLE ROUND THINGS??

Of course you are!

There are two major ways to knit in the round:

Using a Circular Needle or Double Pointed Needles.

Tutorial from Knitpicks that teaches both methods!

**Important Note** Regardless of which method you prefer, knitting in the round is like making a giant spiral of woven yarn, so you will need a stitch marker to let yourself know when your row begins and ends (You can either buy these or make your own using jump rings slightly bigger than your needles.).

At a Glance Shopping List:

Here’s a quick list for people who just want to know what they need for knitting in the round.

Read further if you want actual brand and size recommendations.

  • One Circular Needle
  • One Set of Double Pointed Needles
  • Some stitch markers or jump rings

Circular Needles

Circular needles are especially great for beginners wanting to knit in the round because there are fewer needles for you to have to manage while trying to make the object of your desire! A circular needle is two needles that are connected to each other by a long tube of plastic as pictured below!

How-to Links

circular needle

(Yarn.com)

Circular needles are my favorite thing to knit with for multiple reasons!

1: You never have to search around looking for that second needle because both ends are connected by a long skinny tube of plastic, it’s impossible to lose one of your needles! Yay!

2:  Not only can you use circular needles to make round things, you can also use them to make GINORMOUS rectangular things! (Like blankets!) Ever wondered how people knit blankets? It’s with a really long circular needle! I have an amazing one that’s 60 inches long that I love to use because it gives me plenty of room for my stitches without it bunching up so I can see my design I’m working on clearly!

gurren lagann blanket

This was made by me using a 47″ Addi Turbo Circular Needle!

Recommended Cheapo Brand:

Brand: Clover Bamboo Circular Needles
Size: 7 or 8
Length: Depends on what you’re making! Making a hat? 12-16.” Making a blanket? The bigger the better! This can range between 29” to 60” depending on the brand.

This brand can be found at most stores that sells knitting supplies.

These are pretty good! I’ve used them and the bamboo doesn’t hurt my hands. I’ve tried the cheapo metal needles you can get, but after a while the metal hurts my hands and I’m just not a fan of the feeling. If it’s all you can afford, they’re fine, but bamboo is definitely much easier to work with.

Recommended Not-so Cheapo Brand:

Addi Turbo Circular Needles.

These are the best things ever and I love them. I cannot explain how much I love them, but oh boy do I. All my good circular needles are this brand. They can be found on amazon in a huge variety of needle sizes and lengths! I have a 12”, 47” and two 60” circular needles in size 8. I also have a 45” in size 10. I love all of them. The only downside is that they are on the more expensive side, but if you’re serious about knitting and plan on keeping with it (and not just saying that you’ll keep with it but actually do!), I say go for it.

Double Pointed Needles

While I love using my circular needles, sometimes using double pointed can be better such as if you’re knitting very small things (like the start of a drawstring bag). A super small circular needle can be harder to manage than double pointed needles.

CAM01319

This was made using 7″ size 7 bamboo double pointed needles!

How-to Links

double pointed needles

(yarn.com)

Recommended Material:

Bamboo or Plastic.

Why?

Using plastic or bamboo needles gives something for your stitches to grasp slightly onto. Avoid metal at all costs, especially as a beginner. The metal is slippery (I haven’t tried higher-end brands so I can’t say this is true for all metals but the cheapo metal definitely) and it causes your stitches to fall off very easily if you don’t have many stitches on each needle. Spend the extra dollar or two and get bamboo! You will thank yourself!

My recommended brand can be found at most stores: Clover Bamboo
Size: 7 or 8
Length: 7in long

Patterns:

 

TL;DR (Too Long; Didn’t Read)

So all that was pretty long, I know. So let me sum it up briefly for you guys who went all TL;DR on me.

  • Two types of needles: Circular or Double Pointed
  • Avoid metal needles until you’re used to what you’re doing
  • Don’t forget at least one stitch marker because knitting in the round is like making a giant spiral! You need to know where your row begins and ends!
  • Practice! Practice! Practice!

Hope to see you guys at Needlecraft & a Movie on December 7th at 5PM! Any knitting questions or advice? Feel free to comment below!
__
Ashe

 

Leave a Reply

