Awesome Webcomics: XKCD

For a while, I was a huge webcomic addict. I think this stemmed from my childhood of always reading the comics pages in the newspapers. I always had to read them while I ate my morning breakfast before school.

When I discovered there were comics on the web, webcomics, I was instantly hooked. The internet is so much less restrictive of a platform than a newspaper so the stories are able to develop how the artist wishes. Not to mention the huge array of art styles, panel sizes, usage of gifs occasionally, etc. The internet makes possibilities nearly limitless!

I was up to reading at least around 10-12 different ones per week (some updated every day while others only one or two times a week). I knew their updating schedules by heart! However, slowly over time, either I lost interest because plotlines became stagnant/irritating or the webcomics ended (cue vast amounts of sobbing from the deepest recesses of my soul). Now I’m down to a small handful that I still keep up with.

One of my favorites of these, XKCD, written by Randall Munroe, updates on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays.

Munroe describes his comic as “a webcomic of romance, sarcasm, math, and language.”

I love this comic because each day, I never know what to expect. There are no storylines or arcs. Just one-off strips that are separate from each other. Also, the art style may only be stick figures, but they are the best darn stick figures I’ve ever seen. You just try and find more expressive ones! Just you try!

Fun note about when viewing the comics on the main page, each one has extra text that appears when you hover your mouse over the image long enough!

A few of my all time favourites:

They’re hilarious!

server_attention_span

Mouse-over text: “They have to keep the adjacent rack units empty. Otherwise, half the entries in their /var/log/syslog are just ‘SERVER BELOW TRYING TO START CONVERSATION *AGAIN*.’ and ‘WISH THEY’D STOP GIVING HIM SO MUCH COFFEE IT SPLATTERS EVERYWHERE.”

Get to the heart of the truth!

XKCD colds

Mouseover Text: “The contagious period ends right around when you start to sound sick over the phone, which is probably evidence of cold viruses evolving to spread optimally in the workplace.”

But also sometimes they hit me right in the feels.

spirit

Mouseover Text: “On January 26th, 2274 Mars days into the mission, NASA declared Spirit a ‘stationary research station’, expected to stay operational for several more months until the dust buildup on its solar panels forces a final shutdown.”

Now go forth! Read more!

Enjoying Munroe’s sense of humor in XKCD? He also has two books now that you can get at the library! Grab a copy today!

__
Ashe

One thought on “Awesome Webcomics: XKCD

Leave a Reply

