New Year’s Goals

2015 is coming to a close – time to reflect on all that you’ve done over the year and start thinking about the coming year.

new years hat

I, as a rule, do not set New Year’s resolutions.  If something is worth doing, I don’t need a holiday to tell me to do it.  But, it does offer a convenient starting and end point form some year-long goals.

new years calvin

“calvin and Hobbes” by Bill Watterson

For example, Goodreads (a social networking site for readers) allows you to set reading goals and then helps you track what you’ve read over the year.  Then, at the end of the year, it compiles a nifty pictorial of all the books you’ve read over the year, including the total number of pages read, the shortest book read, the longest book read, and your average rating.  You can set whatever kind of goal you want.  Only want to read 3 books this year?  Up to you!  My friends’ goals have ranged from 10 to 675 books.  (Yeah, I don’t know how she did it either.  675 seems insane even to me.)  My goal was 99 books in 2015.  I exceeded my goal by 15 books.  So, my goal for 2016 is to read 120 books.

For those of you who have never used Goodreads, it’s a pretty awesome site.  You can track your books, rate and review them, compare your reviews with others, find new books to read, see what books are in a series, finds lists of books by topic, take quizzes recommend books to friends, and so much more.  There’s also a free mobile app available.

Leave a Reply

