What Inspires You?

There are so many different places we draw inspiration from: nature, art, music, your friends and family, etc. The sources are virtually limitless!

I personally find a lot of my inspiration from video games.

As you guys saw from one of my previous posts, I’ve recently become addicted to cooking shows.

There’s more to this addiction than me just living vicariously through others on TV. I’ve been trying to become a better cook myself (no worries, I’m nowhere near the level to be able to be a contestant on the show)! I’ve been trying to branch out into being braver and trying different and (hopefully) healthier recipes!

Now what does this have to do with inspiration and video games I’m sure you’re wondering! No worries, I’m not just rambling this time. I promise I have a point.

What is that point?

I’ve gotten some recipe ideas from video games! The video games I play inspire me to want to branch out and try something new. Even if it seems scary to make, I’ve already been introduced to it through the characters I love so I’m more willing to give it a try anyway.

When I was young, I was obsessed (and still am to an extent) with the game Tales of Symphonia for the Gamecube. (Luckily for you guys, it’s been re-released recently for the PS3 which we have here at the library!).

tales-of-symphonia-collectors-edition-box-art

Directly after battles, or from the menu, you can “feed” your characters by having any of the party members cook to recover your health and magic. There were TONS of different recipes to choose from and each recipe had different effects on your party (Note: try to avoid letting Lloyd or Raine cook! They’re terrible and have a risk of making your party sick instead!).

One of those recipes, risotto, has stuck with me through all my life for whatever reason. Maybe because it had a fun name, or maybe because I really like rice and it’s a rice dish! Now, I’ve never had the opportunity to try it yet… Until this weekend! I am finally going to (attempt to) cook it myself to make my past self proud! Will I like it? I hope so! The recipe I found sounded super yummy and had great reviews. I’ll also make some fish and broccoli to go with it. Tune in next week to see if I succeed!
_
Ashe

Leave a Reply

