Magically Atrocious

Lots of people have good luck charms. And they’re not just horseshoes and rabbits’ feet. Some people have a lucky hat or lucky pair of underwear. Some people believe in a lucky number. Let’s face it; the world is often unfair and everyone would like a little extra luck – something to help us get where we want to go.

What’s your lucky charm?

I have a lucky pendant. It’s a cheap, gold-colored sand dollar charm from Avon in the 90s. It looks like this.

Hideous, right?

It’s SO not something I would have ever bought for myself. As a matter of fact, I didn’t buy it for myself. I inherited it. It belonged to my mother. As much as I love my mom, she had a horrible sense of style! She was big into the caked-on blue eyeshadow and fake, gold jewelry. She had big, poofy, permed, blond hair and her favorite color was mauve. At one point, every room in our house was mauve. *shudders*

Seriously, we had this chair.  This. Exact. Chair.

But, I digress. The point here is that this charm is ugly. Like, really ugly. Like, you can see places where the gold paint has rubbed off and the plastic is showing through. Yeah. Uglly.

Yet, I keep it.

And I wear it.

I still wear it to every job interview. I wear it every time I fly. I wear it to the first day of anything ever. I wear it whenever I need to feel like my mom is with me. Is it logical? No. Will this horrid little sand dollar actually get me a job or save me from a plane crash? Of course not. Nevertheless… I wear it. Because this necklace makes me feel safe, like everything will be alright, like good things are just around the corner. That’s what good luck charms do, just like moms.

classic mom heart tattooDo you have a lucky charm, something that gives you strength and confidence? Tell me about it in the comments!

Leave a Reply

