Poetry Contest – Dodoitsu

April 15, 2016 — Dodoitsu

Dodoitsu is another form of Japanese poetry that counts syllables. The first three lines have seven syllables each while the fourth and final line contains only five syllables. Dodoitsu is generally comedic in nature.

Example:i heart poetry

I came across my first love
You were always in my arms
Swore we’d never be apart
But I let you go

Now we are reunited
My heart just beats like a drum
I can’t take my eyes off you …
My first teddy bear
© JAN ALLISON 2016

More examples can be found at Poem Zoom.

Enter to WinEntries can be left in the comments below, emailed to fountaindaleteen@fountaindale.org or dropped off at the Vortex desk. All entries must be received by 2pm on Friday, April 22.  Winner will receive a snazzy journal and pen set!

Leave a Reply

